top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristen Pizzo

The 15 Best Iced Coffee Brands

Updated: Jun 24, 2018

When there's no time for a Starbucks run and no way to make iced coffee at home, there's always the myriad of iced coffee brands at the grocery store. Before I discovered the art of cold brewing, canned or bottled coffee was my go-to when it came to satisfying my caffeine cravings. Even now, I occasionally get one when I need iced coffee in a pinch, so I have tried quite a few different brands in the last year or so.


Some were pretty close to coffee shop quality, others tasted like chocolate milk (not that there's anything wrong with that!). Here is my take on 15 different brands.


1. High Brew




The Dark Chocolate Mocha flavor, pictured above, is way too sweet for my taste, even though I adore most coffee shop mochas. However, the Double Espresso flavor is perfect if you like your coffee plain and super strong. It's definitely not for the "cream and sugar with a little bit of coffee" types. The brand also carries Mexican Vanilla, Black & Bold, and Salted Caramel flavors . You can find these cans at Target, Publix, or get the best deal on them here.


2. Illy



Illy is one of the better bottled coffees out there. There is a nice balance between coffee flavor and sweetness. You can find it in both bottles and cans at most grocery and convenience stores, or order it in bulk here.


3. Califia Farms



Califia Farms is one of my favorite bottled coffee brands. Every one of their cold brews is 100% vegan and 100% delicious. My favorite, the Mexican Mocha flavor, has a unique kick, but is by no means too spicy. If you liked Starbucks' Chile Mocha (RIP), you'll love it. Find it at Whole Foods, Target, Publix, or the Califia Farms website.


4. Dunkin Donuts




Dunkin Donuts' answer to all of those bottled Frappuccinos was better than I expected. I could definitely taste the coffee, like it promised, but it did taste more like coffee-flavored milk than coffee. I tried the mocha flavor, but it also comes in Espresso, Vanilla, and Original. Grab one at Target, Publix, or the almighty Wawa.


5. Gevalia



Gevalia is another tasty option for vegan or lactose-intolerant coffeeholics. It's not too sweet, and can be enjoyed over ice or straight out of the chilled pouch. The brand sells almond milk iced coffees and cold brew at most grocery stores.


6. International Delight



If you like your mochas extra chocolatey (think like literal chocolate milk), International Delight should be your go-to. You can also purchase their half gallons of iced coffee in Caramel Macchiato or Vanilla.


7. La Colombe



La Colombe has by far the most interesting canned coffee. The foamy texture of their draft latte is unique and adds body to the flavor. The coffee has the perfect amount of sweetness, and surprise- it contains no added sugar. It comes in eight different incredible flavors, which you can purchase below. If you fall in love with one, consider the monthly subscription, available on the La Colombe website.


8. Starbucks



The best thing about Starbucks' bottled and canned coffees is that you can find them just about everywhere. While their unsweetened bottled iced coffee is versatile and perfect for those who like to add their own creamers and sweeteners, the Doubleshot Espresso cans and Frappuccino bottles are ready to drink as they come. While I think the Doubleshots are delicious over ice or blended with a banana and a little chocolate syrup, the Frappuccinos are way too sweet to be my everyday coffee. The cold brew is best for those who like their coffee black, but not bitter. I tried the Cocoa & Honey cold brew and it had the perfect amount of subtle sweetness.


9. Kona Red



While in Maui over the summer last year, Kona Red was my go-to coffee after long days at the beach. It is unlike any other coffee I have had, because it is made with both coffee beans and coffee berries. It has an interesting, almost sour taste. If that sounds like your kind of cold brew, click here to get bottles of your own.


10. Chameleon



Chameleon Cold Brew has by far the best cold brew I have had. The mocha is my favorite because it has a dry chocolate taste rather than a syrupy one. It is not overpowering in any way, and it is perfect for pairing with any creamer you'd like. Because it is concentrated, my boyfriend even mixes a few ounces of it with iced coffee.


11. Stok



Stok's mocha could have been a little sweeter in my opinion, but it was otherwise a pretty balanced cold brew that definitely satisfied the coffee cravings I have while waiting at my gate in the airport.


12. Bustelo Cool



This is another perfect one for those who like their sugar with a little bit of coffee. The Cafe Con Leche reminded me of a YooHoo drink- it wasn't bad, but it didn't taste much like coffee. If sweetness is your top priority in the morning, order some cans of this here.


13. Peet's



Peet's has always had my heart (#sorrynotsorry Starbucks), so I immediately bought one of their almond milk cold brews as soon as they debuted, and I'm happy to say I was not disappointed. While I usually opt for soymilk when ordering from a shop, I thought the almond milk complimented the coffee with its subtle, nutty flavor quite well in the drink.


14. Trader Joe's Mocha Nut Latte



True to it's name, this latte is super nutty, and the date flavor definitely comes through. I would have liked to have tasted more coffee, but this is still a wonderful vegan bottled coffee option.



15. Bolthouse Mocha Cappuccino



This is my all time favorite mocha. It's creamy, sweet, and still tastes a lot like coffee, which is an incredible feat for a coffee drink to pull off in my book. And, as a bonus, it packs in a fair amount of protein, so you can fuel your morning workout AND your caffeine addiction.


Whether you like your coffee sweet or strong, vegan or not, I hope you find your new favorite on this list!


Pin this post to spread the coffee love!




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page